Project Details

Description

A successful exploitation of ""big data"" in companies and organizations requires the interactive visualization of large information spaces with intuitive interaction techniques. However, many suppliers of ""big data"" solutions (e.g. software developers or consultancies) have only limited experience with user-centered design of interactive visualizations for PCs, mobile devices, and large high-resolution displays - particulary with respect to optimizing the design of visualizations and interaction techniques according to human cognitive abilites.

The COIN project User-Centered Interactive Visualization for ""Big Data"" (USIVIS) establishes the necessary R&D expertise and infrastructure at the University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria to enable the transfer of research results from information visualization and human-computer interaction into the practice of ""big data"" visualization in companies and organizations. The goal is a fundamental improvement of the support for decision making by designing novel visualization and interaction techniques and studying their usability, user experience, and practical relevance including eye-tracking and electroencephalography studies.

Establishing this new interdisciplinary expertise in new research groups will internationally position the University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria as a key partner for the user- and task-oriented design of ""big data"" visualization for practical applications.



Short titleUSIVIS: User-Centered Interactive Visualization for Big Data
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date01.12.201630.11.2020

USIVIS: User-Centered Interactive Visualization for Big Data

Projektdetails

Beschreibung

Für einen erfolgreichen Einsatz von „Big Data“ im Unternehmen ist eine interaktive Visualisierung der großen Datenmengen mit intuitiven Bedienkonzepten notwendig. Softwarehersteller und Beratungsunternehmen für „Big Data“ haben aber in der Regel zu wenig Erfahrung mit der benutzerzentrierten und kognitiv-optimalen Gestaltung interaktiver Visualisierungen für PCs, Mobilgeräte und große hochauflösende Displays und müssen dahingehend besser unterstützt werden.

Das COIN-Aufbau Projekt User-Centered Interactive Visualization for „Big Data“ (USIVIS) dient daher dem Aufbau neuer FEI-Expertise und -Infrastruktur an der FH OÖ, um zukünftig den Transfer von Forschungsergebnissen aus der Informationsvisualisierung und dem Interaktionsdesign in die „Big Data“-Praxis von Unternehmen zu ermöglichen. Das Ziel ist eine fundamentale Verbesserung der Entscheidungsunterstützung durch die Gestaltung neuartiger Visualisierungs- und Bedienkonzepte und deren Erforschung im Hinblick auf Usability, User Experience und Praxistauglichkeit mit Eye-Tracking und Elektroenzephalografie (EEG).

Dieser Aufbau neuer interdisziplinärer Expertise und Labore positioniert die FH OÖ zukünftig als internationale Anlaufstelle für die aufgaben- und benutzergerechte Gestaltung interaktiver „Big Data“-Visualisierung für die betriebliche Praxis.
KurztitelUSIVIS: User-Centered Interactive Visualization for Big Data
StatusAbgeschlossen
Tatsächlicher Beginn/ -es Ende01.12.201630.11.2020

Fingerprint

Erkunden Sie die Forschungsthemen, die von diesem Projekt angesprochen werden. Diese Bezeichnungen werden den ihnen zugrunde liegenden Bewilligungen/Fördermitteln entsprechend generiert. Zusammen bilden sie einen einzigartigen Fingerprint.