FatAM - Fatigue in additively manufactured metals and composites: Integration of nondestructive testing and numerical modeling

Project Details

Description

The unique selling point of this multidisciplinary research project is the testing of additive manufactured (AM) metal and composite components in combination with research into the effect of detected defects on their service life. Through the use of machine learning and structural mechanics simulation, a comprehensive IO/NIO assessment of the components can thus be made. This is particularly relevant for assessing the damage tolerance of structural components with high safety requirements, e.g. in automotive and aerospace applications.
A major hurdle to date is the lack of standards for the quality assessment of AM components, especially with regard to the control of material properties, the correlation between process and structural properties (digital twin), the effects of defects and the surface quality after the removal of support structures (e.g. by herding). AM components exhibit specific process- and geometry-related defects, which have a negative impact on fatigue properties in particular. Basically, the selection of the optimal parameters for the respective material and geometry play a major role for fatigue strength.
In this project, information about the manufacturing process (in-line monitoring) and component-specific volume data (industrial computed tomography, CT) are integrated into a common database, which serves as the basis for evaluation using machine learning - e.g., to learn classification models that perform IO/NIO evaluation of the components based on selected features. The collected data is used to generate digital process twins, on the basis of which existing component defects are to be detected and their cause determined.
Damage models based on finite element analysis (FEA) will allow further assessment of existing defects on fatigue strength. FEA based on CT data is used to determine the stress distribution of structural components to determine damage safety factors and fatigue limits. With this feedback approach, the results can be used directly to optimize design criteria, such as topology-optimized components. This also applies to the combination of AM with composite materials.
Our main goal is to formulate guidelines for the optimization of AM production parameters for companies that additively manufacture metal or composite components. Reference and real components generated in the project and the evaluation of the respective damage safety factors provide an important knowledge base to enable SMEs to transfer this advanced approach directly into products - without having to perform time-consuming test series themselves. The project thus acts directly as a competence center for metal and plastic 3D printing for Austrian companies, which contributes to the location profile for all partners involved.
Short titleFatAM
StatusActive
Effective start/end date01.01.202131.12.2024

Fingerprint

Explore the research topics touched on by this project. These labels are generated based on the underlying awards/grants. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

FatAM - Ermüdungseigenschaften von additiv gefertigten Metallen und Verbundwerkstoffen: Integration von zerstörungsfreier Prüfung und numerischer Modellierung

Projektdetails

Beschreibung

Das Alleinstellungsmerkmal dieses multidisziplinären Forschungsprojekts ist die Prüfung von additiv hergestellten (additive manufacturing, AM) Metall und Komposit-Komponenten in Kombination mit der Erforschung der Auswirkung von detektierten Fehlstellen auf deren Lebensdauer. Durch den Einsatz von maschinellem Lernen und strukturmechanischer Simulation kann so eine umfassende IO/NIO-Bewertung der Bauteile getroffen werden. Dies ist vor allem für die Beurteilung der Schadenstoleranz von Strukturbauteilen mit hohen Sicherheitsanforderungen relevant, z.B. in Automobil- und Luftfahrtanwendungen.
Eine große Hürde stellen bis dato fehlende Standards zur Qualitätsbewertung von AM-Bauteilen dar, vor allem in Bezug auf die Kontrolle der Materialeigenschaften, der Korrelation zwischen Prozess- und Struktureigenschaften (digitaler Zwilling), der Auswirkungen von Defekten und der Oberflächengüte nach dem Entfernen von Stützstrukturen (z.B. durch Hirtisieren). AM-Bauteile weisen dabei spezifische prozess- und geometriebedingte Fehler auf, welche insbesondere die Ermüdungseigenschaften negativ beeinflussen. Grundsätzlich spielen die Auswahl der optimalen Parameter für das jeweilige Material und die Geometrie eine große Rolle für die Ermüdungsfestigkeit.
In diesem Projekt werden Information über den Herstellungsprozess (in-line monitoring) und Bauteil-spezifische Volumendaten (Industrieller Computertomographie, CT) in eine gemeinsame Datenbank integriert, die als Grundlage für die Auswertung mittels Machine Learning dient – z.B. um Klassifikations-Modelle zu erlernen, die auf Basis ausgewählter Features eine IO/NIO-Bewertung der Bauteile vornehmen. Mit Hilfe der gesammelten Daten werden digitale Prozesszwillinge generiert, auf deren Basis vorhandene Bauteildefekte detektiert und deren Ursache ermittelt werden sollen.
Schadensmodelle auf Basis von Finite Elemente Analysen (FEA) erlauben weiterführend die Beurteilung von vorhandenen Defekten auf die Betriebsfestigkeit. FEA auf Basis von CT-Daten wird zur Bestimmung der Spannungsverteilung von Strukturkomponenten verwendet, um Schadens-Sicherheitsfaktoren und Dauerfestigkeitsgrenzen zu ermitteln. Mit diesem Feedback-Ansatz können die Ergebnisse direkt zur Optimierung der Konstruktionskriterien, z.B. von Topologie-optimierten Komponenten, verwendet werden. Dies gilt auch für die Kombination von AM mit Komposit-Werkstoffen.
Unser Hauptziel ist die Formulierung von Guidelines zur Optimierung von AM-Produktionsparametern für Firmen, die Metall- oder Komposit-Komponenten additiv herstellen. Im Projekt generierte Referenz- und Realbauteile und die Evaluierung der jeweiligen Schadens-Sicherheitsfaktoren liefern eine wichtige Wissensbasis, damit KMUs diesen fortschrittlichen Ansatz direkt in Produkte überführen zu können – ohne selbst zeitaufwändige Testserien durchführen zu müssen. Das Projekt fungiert somit direkt als Kompetenzzentrum für Metall- und Kunststoff 3D-Druck für österreichische Unternehmen, was für alle beteiligten Partnern zur Standortprofilbildung beiträgt.
KurztitelFatAM
StatusLaufend
Tatsächlicher Beginn/ -es Ende01.01.202131.12.2024

Fingerprint

Erkunden Sie die Forschungsthemen, die von diesem Projekt angesprochen werden. Diese Bezeichnungen werden den ihnen zugrunde liegenden Bewilligungen/Fördermitteln entsprechend generiert. Zusammen bilden sie einen einzigartigen Fingerprint.