Project Details

Description

The screw coupling is still used in Europe for the majority of freight wagons, therefore the operations at marshalling yards are not state of the art. All operations must be done manually by workers called shunters and are hard work. Some of the hardest tasks are loosening the coupling and the uncoupling. Therefore a mechanical device shall be developed to do these tasks automatically to increase productivity and safety. To realize this, the complete processes got analysed and potential solutions were developed and tested. Also Lifecycle Management and the protection of workers have to be considered during the development process. In addition a sensor system is necessary to provide the required data for the control of the mechanic part.
Based on the promising results of the parent project EntKuRo, the next steps to develop application ready systems are content of the new project roboCOUPLING. The Project EntKuRo was able to show an automatic loosing of the coupling and uncoupling could work. The solutions had been tested at a laboratory model and furthermore the uncoupling was tested at the marshalling yard in Linz on moving rail wagons.

Within the project roboCOUPLING the following objectives are pursued:
(1) Long term test of the uncoupling device to identify necessary optimization needs and implement them. A TRL 7-8 is aspired.
(2) Further development of the “Langmacher” for loosing the coupling to an operational prototype, including the sensor system.
(3) Field test of the “Langmacher”-prototype at a marshalling yard. A TRL 6-7 is aspired.
(4) Within a probe possible concepts for an automatic couple of the screw coupling will be developed and tested in laboratory. (up to TRL 4)
(5) The research will be completed, by additional chapters of workers protection, economic feasibility and interfaces to other systems.

In the past the main research was focused on automatic coupling systems. The possibility to automate the separation and connection of the screw coupling was not pursued intensively. Therefore, a high innovation potential exists in the project roboCOUPLING. The topics of roboCOUPLING are of great interest for all European countries in general and have a potential to improve the economic feasibility and safety of the European railway-freight traffic essentially.
Short titleDACIO
StatusActive
Effective start/end date01.07.201931.08.2024

Funding agency

  • Mobilität der Zukunft

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This project contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 9 - Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure
  • SDG 13 - Climate Action

Fingerprint

Explore the research topics touched on by this project. These labels are generated based on the underlying awards/grants. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

DACIO - Digital Automated Coupling in Infrastructure Operations

Projektdetails

Beschreibung

Da es den europäischen Bahnen bisher nicht gelungen ist, ein automatisches Kupplungssystem für Güterwagen einzuführen, werden mechatronische Systeme benötigt, die die traditionelle Schraubenkupplung möglichst vollständig automatisiert Trennen und Verbinden können.

Auf Basis der vielversprechenden Ergebnisse des Vorgängerprojektes EntKuRo soll nunmehr im Rahmen des neuen Projektes roboCOUPLING der nächste Schritt zur technischen Einsatzreife der Systeme erfolgen. EntKuRo konnte Lösungen zeigen, wie das Aufschrauben der Kupplung (Langmachen) und das Aushängen des Kupplungsbügels (Entkuppeln) automatisiert erfolgen kann. Beim Vorgängerprojekt EntKuRo wurde im Vbhf Linz bereits ein erster Prototyp für den Entkuppler aufgebaut sowie für den Langmacher ein Labordemonstrator aufgebaut.

Im Rahmen des neuen Projektes roboCOUPLING werden nun folgende Ziele angestrebt:
(1) Der Entkuppler soll einem längeren Test unterzogen werden, um noch notwendige technische Optimierungen identifizieren und umsetzen zu können. Angestrebt wird ein TRL 7 - 8.
(2) Der Langmacher soll zu einem im Feldtest einsatzfähigen Prototyp weiterentwickelt werden, inklusive der dazugehörigen Sensorik.
(3) Der Langmacher soll in einem Feldtest in einem Verschiebebahnhof getestet werden, wobei ein TRL 6 – 7 angestrebt wird.
(4) Im Rahmen einer Sondierung sollen Konzepte für das automatische Verbinden einer Schraubenkupplung entwickelt und im Labor getestet werden (TRL 4).
(5) Abgerundet werden die Forschungsarbeiten durch ergänzende Kapitel zu Arbeitnehmerschutz, Wirtschaftlichkeit und Schnittstellen zu anderen Systemen.
In der Vergangenheit lag der Fokus der Forschung auf automatischen Kupplungssystemen. Die Möglichkeit die traditionelle Schraubenkupplung automatisiert zu trennen und auch zu verbinden, wurde bisher nicht intensiv verfolgt. Dementsprechend besteht im Projekt roboCOUPLING ein sehr hohes Innovationspotenzial. Das Thema roboCoupling. ist grundsätzlich in allen europäischen Ländern von großem Interesse und hat das Potential den europäischen Eisenbahn-Güterverkehr wirtschaftlich wie sicherheitstechnisch entscheidend zu verbessern.
KurztitelDACIO
StatusLaufend
Tatsächlicher Beginn/ -es Ende01.07.201931.08.2024

Förderagentur

  • MdZ-Mobilität der Zukunft

UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung

2015 einigten sich UN-Mitgliedstaaten auf 17 globale Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) zur Beendigung der Armut, zum Schutz des Planeten und zur Förderung des allgemeinen Wohlstands. Die Arbeit dieses Projekts leistet einen Beitrag zu folgendem(n) SDG(s):

  • SDG 9 – Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
  • SDG 13 – Klimaschutzmaßnahmen

Fingerprint

Erkunden Sie die Forschungsthemen, die von diesem Projekt angesprochen werden. Diese Bezeichnungen werden den ihnen zugrunde liegenden Bewilligungen/Fördermitteln entsprechend generiert. Zusammen bilden sie einen einzigartigen Fingerprint.