COMPARE - Comparative Visualization of time-varying multidimensional Data

Project Details

Description

For highly complex material systems such as fibre-reinforced composites, which are used in safety-critical industries such as automotive, aerospace or space industry, analyses regarding internal characteristics, quality and safety are essential. By means of image based, non-destructive testing (NDT) techniques, a visual analysis of material properties and their behavior in their target application scenario is possible for the first time. Internal processes of material systems may be imaged in high detail by X-ray computed tomography (XCT) as a series of 3D XCT scans (== 4DCT). Secondary data sets are derived from these primary NDT data using segmentation and quantification algorithms. Together, these ensemble data of primary and secondary data form the basis of this project.
The goal of the PhD project COMPARE is to develop comparative visualization techniques for such ensemble data sets over time or over running NDT processes as generated using in-situ tests (e.g. with respect to tension, pressure, thermal load or similar) for complex material systems. The focus of the visualization methods to be generated is on the comparative representation of the development of interesting features and their characteristics over time or a running NDT process across one or more material systems. Therefore, the project will (1) enable a visual analysis of multivariate secondary data sets of single material systems, (2) develop comparative analysis and visualization techniques of secondary data for several material systems and (3) develop visual analysis methods for 4DCT data of several material systems using new visualization techniques.
The comparative visualization of the internal changes of a material system will generate a detailed understanding of the modification of individual objects and their characteristics and thus enable detailed investigations of the suitability of a material system for the target application. A comparative investigation of quantitative features of several material systems is crucial to determine statistically validated characteristics regarding material properties and their change. The generated comparative visualization techniques allow to take full advantage of human perception and thus to significantly reduce costs by accelerate data evaluation. COMPARE realizes a visualization system that for the first time makes detailed novel knowledge about the course of internal material processes available and thus ensures a significant increase in efficiency and effectiveness in the production, quality control and optimization of materials.
Short titleCOMPARE
StatusActive
Effective start/end date01.12.202030.11.2023

Fingerprint

Explore the research topics touched on by this project. These labels are generated based on the underlying awards/grants. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

COMPARE - Komparative Analyse zeitlicher Entwicklungen multidimensionaler Datenensembles aus der Werkstoffprüfung

Projektdetails

Beschreibung

Für hochkomplexe Materialsysteme wie faserverstärkte Verbundwerkstoffe, die in sicherheitskritischen Branchen wie der Automobilindustrie, Luft- und Raumfahrt eingesetzt werden, sind Eigenschafts-, Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsanalysen unumgänglich. Mittels bildgebender, zerstörungsfreier Prüfverfahren (ZfP) wird eine visuelle Analyse von Materialeigenschaften und deren Verhalten unter externen Einflüssen erstmals möglich. Die internen Prozesse der Materialsysteme können durch Röntgencomputertomographie (XCT) als Serie von 3D XCT-Scans (== 4DCT) abgebildet werden. Aus diesen primären ZfP-Daten können mithilfe von Segmentierungs- und Quantifizierungsalgorithmen Sekundärdatensätze abgeleitet werden. Gemeinsam bilden diese Ensembles aus primär und sekundären ZfP Daten die Datenbasis dieses Projekts.
Ziel des Dissertationsprojekts COMPARE ist es, komparative Visualisierungstechniken für Ensemble-Datensätze über die Zeit bzw. über laufende ZfP-Prozesse in Insitu-Prüfungen (z.B. bez. Zug, Druck, thermischer Belastung o.ä.) für komplexe Materialsysteme zu entwickeln. Der Fokus der zu generierenden Visualisierungsmethoden liegt hierbei auf der komparativen Darstellung der Entwicklungen von interessanten Merkmalen und deren Charakteristika über Zeit oder einen laufenden ZfP Prozess über ein oder mehrere Materialsysteme hinweg. Im Zuge des Projekts wird daher (1) eine visuelle Analyse multivariater Sekundärdatensätze einzelner Materialsysteme ermöglicht, (2) komparative Analyse- und Visualisierungstechniken von Sekundärdaten für mehrerer Materialsysteme entwickelt und (3) visuelle Analysemethoden für 4DCT Daten mehrerer Materialsysteme anhand neuer Visualisierungstechniken erarbeitet.
Die komparative Visualisierung der internen Veränderungen eines Materialsystems wird ein detailliertes Verständnis der Veränderung einzelner Objekte und deren Charakteristika generieren und somit detaillierte Untersuchungen der Eignung eines Materialsystems für die Zielapplikation ermöglichen. Eine komparative Untersuchung quantitativer Merkmale mehrerer Materialsysteme ist ausschlaggebend, um statistisch abgesicherte Kennwerte hinsichtlich Werkstoffeigenschaften und ihrer Änderung festzustellen. Die generierten komparativen Visualisierungstechniken ermöglichen dabei, die menschliche Wahrnehmung voll auszuschöpfen und somit die Datenauswertung entscheidend zu beschleunigen bzw. Kosten zu reduzieren. COMPARE realisiert ein Visualisierungssystem, das neues Wissen über den Verlauf interner Materialprozesse überhaupt erst verfügbar macht und so für eine signifikante Effizienz- und Effektivitätssteigerung in der Produktion, Qualitätsprüfung und Optimierung von Werkstoffen sorgt.
KurztitelCOMPARE
StatusLaufend
Tatsächlicher Beginn/ -es Ende01.12.202030.11.2023

Fingerprint

Erkunden Sie die Forschungsthemen, die von diesem Projekt angesprochen werden. Diese Bezeichnungen werden den ihnen zugrunde liegenden Bewilligungen/Fördermitteln entsprechend generiert. Zusammen bilden sie einen einzigartigen Fingerprint.